The grand jury evaluates the films in competition and awards the prize for Best Feature Film.

Šárka Gmiterková

Šárka is a doctoral student at the Department of Film Studies and Audiovisual Culture at the Faculty of Arts of Masaryk University in Brno. Her research focuses on film stars, star systems, and the theory of acting. She also specializes in film costumes, melodrama, and gender theory. Šárka is a regular contributor to Cinepur magazine, A2 cultural magazine, and the specialized periodical Iluminace. Her work has been published abroad as well: in Necsus magazine, in Journal of Celebrity Studies, and in the forthcoming collection Popular Cinemas in Central Europe



Bruce LaBruce

Internationally acclaimed filmmaker, photographer, writer and Toronto-based artist Bruce LaBruce has written and directed nine feature films. His most recent, Pierrot Lunaire, won the Teddy Award Special Jury Prize at the Berlinale in 2014.  As a visual artist, he is represented by the Peres Projects in Berlin and has held numerous gallery shows around the world. He has also contributed to a variety of international magazines, newspapers and websites, such as Vice and The Guardian UK, to name a few, as both a writer and a photographer. 

Bruce LaBruce


Karel Och

Karel Och studied law before graduating in film theory and history from Charles University, Prague. He has worked for the Karlovy Vary International Film Festival since 2001, first as a member of the selection committee. He has programmed KVIFF’s documentary competition and curated tributes to, and retrospectives of, Sam Peckinpah, John Huston, Powell & Pressburger, Jean-Pierre Melville, Sam Fuller, Elio Petri and Otto Preminger, to name a few. In 2011, Och was appointed Artistic Director of the Karlovy Vary IFF.


FaLang translation system by Faboba